BallenIsles Country Club vs Mirasol Country Club: Golf Community Comparison
BallenIsles Country Club and Mirasol Country Club are two of Palm Beach Gardens' largest mandatory-membership golf communities, and both happen to sit on land once tied to the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation -- but they were built four decades apart and diverge in real ways beyond that shared origin. BallenIsles dates to 1963 as PGA National Golf Club, carries major-championship history (the PGA Championship, the PGA Seniors Championship, and the original PGA Tour Qualifying School were all held there), and offers 54 holes across three courses with an active, multi-year architect-led renovation program still underway. Mirasol opened in 2002 on a matched two-course design by Tom Fazio and Arthur Hills, hosted the PGA Tour's Honda Classic for four years before the event moved to nearby PGA National, and structures its mandatory membership around a lower-cost Social tier with Golf and Sport available above it. Both require every homeowner to join the club, but the details of that requirement, the golf footprint, and how current the published fee figures are differ meaningfully.
Side by Side
How They Compare
Origins & tournament pedigree
BallenIsles Country Club
Founded 1963 as PGA National Golf Club (John D. MacArthur/PGA of America); hosted the PGA Championship, the PGA Seniors Championship, the original PGA Tour Qualifying School, and the inaugural PGA Merchandise Show, before becoming JDM Country Club (1973) and then BallenIsles (1988).
Mirasol Country Club
Opened 2002 on former MacArthur Foundation hunting-plantation land developed by Taylor Woodrow; hosted the PGA Tour's Honda Classic 2003-2006 before the event moved to nearby PGA National Resort in 2007.
Golf footprint
BallenIsles Country Club
54 holes across three 18-hole courses (East and North, original 1963 Dick Wilson/Joe Lee designs; South, rebuilt by Rees Jones, reopened 2020), plus a 10-hole Rees Jones short course approved by members in 2025 (open status unconfirmed).
Mirasol Country Club
36 holes across two 18-hole courses: Sunrise (Tom Fazio, rating 76.2/slope 147) and Sunset (Arthur Hills, rating 75.2/slope 153).
Recent course investment
BallenIsles Country Club
South Course rebuilt by Rees Jones (reopened 2020); East Course and practice facility renovated under a multi-year Nicklaus Design partnership (completed 2023); new 10-hole short course approved 2025.
Mirasol Country Club
No course-level renovation documented since the original 2002 Fazio/Hills build; the $40M facilities renovation (year not specified in sourcing) covered clubhouse, tennis, and aquatics rather than the golf courses.
Mandatory membership structure
BallenIsles Country Club
Every homeowner is a club member; sourcing frames a Full Membership equity fee as required, though lower-cost Sports, Tennis, and Social/Fitness tiers are also described as available -- which tier is the true mandatory floor is not fully clear and should be confirmed with the club.
Mirasol Country Club
A Social-level equity membership is the confirmed mandatory floor for every homeowner; Golf and Sport tiers are optional upgrades above that.
Initiation fee
BallenIsles Country Club
$295,000, reported consistently by two independent 2026 buyer's guides as the current Full Membership equity fee (80% historically refundable at resale, but that refund no longer applies to memberships purchased/upgraded on or after March 1, 2025). An older $85,000 figure from a 2024 club PDF could not be reconciled this session.
Mirasol Country Club
$140,000 Golf-level Recreational Facilities Maintenance Contribution (of which $100,000 is the refundable equity portion), per a 2019 fee schedule still circulating on broker sites; a general 2026 buyer's guide suggests fees may now run 'over $300,000,' unconfirmed against a current club schedule.
Annual dues
BallenIsles Country Club
Not precisely documented; a general 2026 buyer's guide places comparable Palm Beach County full-golf dues in a $15,000-$30,000/year range, without a BallenIsles-specific figure.
Mirasol Country Club
$22,079/year (Golf-level Club Dues), per the same 2019 fee schedule -- not confirmed current.
Community scale
BallenIsles Country Club
1,300 acres; roughly 1,574-1,575 homes across 32-33 sub-communities; housing from patio homes to multi-acre estates; average single-family price reported around $1.4M.
Mirasol Country Club
Roughly 2,300 acres; 23 distinct Mediterranean-themed villages; housing from villas and cottages to larger estate homes; per-village HOA fees and price ranges vary and were not itemized this session.
Clubhouse investment
BallenIsles Country Club
$35 million renovation (2018) expanded the clubhouse to 115,000 sq ft, adding a Grand Lobby, Harry's Lounge, and the Evolution restaurant.
Mirasol Country Club
$40 million renovation expanded the clubhouse by 50% to 78,000 sq ft, adding the Solstice restaurant, a new 15-court-plus-center-court tennis facility, and an expanded spa/aquatics complex.
Shared MacArthur-Era Origins, Different Decades of Development
Both clubs trace back to land connected to developer/philanthropist John D. MacArthur, but at very different points in that legacy. BallenIsles was built directly by MacArthur in 1963 in partnership with the PGA of America as PGA National Golf Club, later renamed JDM Country Club (1973) and then BallenIsles after a 1988 sale -- giving it more than 60 years of continuous history and genuine major-championship pedigree. Mirasol sits on former MacArthur Foundation hunting-plantation land that was developed decades later, in the late 1990s and early 2000s, by British developer Taylor Woodrow, opening for play in 2002. The practical result is that BallenIsles carries a much longer institutional and tournament history, while Mirasol is a newer, single-era Mediterranean master plan built to a more unified architectural theme.
Golf: 54 Holes and an Active Renovation Program vs. a Two-Architect Original
BallenIsles offers the larger golf footprint -- 54 holes across three 18-hole courses (East and North, original 1963 Dick Wilson/Joe Lee designs; South, completely rebuilt by Rees Jones and reopened in 2020) -- and has been reinvesting in its courses continuously: a multi-year Nicklaus Design partnership renovated the East Course and practice grounds (completed 2023), and members approved a new 10-hole Rees Jones short course and expanded putting facility in 2025 (not yet confirmed open for play). Mirasol's 36 holes across two courses -- Sunrise (Tom Fazio) and Sunset (Arthur Hills) -- were built as a deliberate two-architect pairing at the club's 2002 opening, but no course-level renovation has been documented since; Mirasol's major reinvestment (a $40 million project) went into the clubhouse, tennis, and aquatics facilities rather than the golf courses themselves.
Membership Structure: What's Actually Mandatory
Mirasol's mandatory-membership structure is the more clearly documented of the two: every homeowner must hold at least a Social-level equity membership, with Golf and Sport tiers available as optional upgrades above that floor -- so a non-golfing buyer knows exactly what the minimum required cost looks like. BallenIsles' structure is less precisely specified in available sourcing: qualification research frames a Full Membership equity fee as required of every resident, while the club's own tier list also includes lower-cost Sports, Tennis, and Social/Fitness memberships described as available options. Whether those lower tiers can satisfy the mandatory-membership requirement on their own, or whether Full Membership specifically is the required floor, was not fully resolved this session -- a buyer should get this in writing from BallenIsles before assuming the club works the same way as Mirasol's Social-floor model.
Fees: One Recently Corroborated Figure, One Dated Figure
BallenIsles' $295,000 initiation figure is corroborated by two independent 2026 buyer's guides and framed as currently accurate, though it still conflicts with an older $85,000 figure found in a 2024 club fee-schedule PDF that could not be reconciled this session. Mirasol's most detailed published figure -- a $140,000 Golf-level Recreational Facilities Maintenance Contribution, of which $100,000 is the refundable equity portion, plus $22,079 in annual dues -- comes from a 2019 fee schedule still circulating on broker sites; a general 2026 buyer's guide suggests Mirasol fees may now run 'over $300,000,' but this could not be confirmed against a current club-issued schedule. In practice, a buyer should treat BallenIsles' $295,000 as reasonably current but still worth confirming given the historical discrepancy, and should treat Mirasol's $140,000 figure as a likely floor rather than today's actual price.
Scale and Housing Organization
BallenIsles is the denser of the two: 1,300 acres holding roughly 1,574-1,575 homes across 32-33 gated sub-communities, with housing ranging from patio homes and golf villas to multi-acre estates, and reported average single-family pricing around $1.4 million. Mirasol spans more land -- roughly 2,300 acres -- organized into 23 larger, individually named Mediterranean-themed villages, with housing from villas and cottages to larger estate homes; HOA fees and price ranges are set at the village level rather than community-wide, so two homes inside Mirasol can carry meaningfully different carrying costs depending on which village they sit in. A buyer who wants more inventory choice within a single membership structure may find BallenIsles' larger home count relevant; a buyer comparing costs at Mirasol needs to look at the specific village, not just the community as a whole.
What to Verify
At BallenIsles: the true current Full Membership equity fee given the $85,000-versus-$295,000 discrepancy in sourcing, which membership tier actually satisfies the mandatory-homeowner requirement, current annual dues by tier (no precise figure was found), and whether the new 10-hole short course is open for member play. At Mirasol: current fee schedule by tier given the 2019 data is dated and a much higher unconfirmed 2026 estimate exists, per-village HOA fees and price ranges across the 23 villages, and the date of the clubhouse/tennis/aquatics renovation (not specified in available sourcing). At both clubs, confirm current membership waitlist status directly, since neither has a publicly documented answer.
Trying to Choose Between BallenIsles Country Club and Mirasol Country Club?
A local real-estate specialist can walk you through the tradeoffs and current availability at each.
US Golf Living provides independent real-estate research and can connect consumers with real-estate professionals. Golf membership, availability, fees and approval are determined independently by the applicable club.